We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website Learn more

Sep 5, 2018

Society of Hematologic Oncology Sixth Annual Meeting

19 / Durability of Response in Patients With Refractory Large B Cell Lymphoma Treated With Axicabtagene Ciloleucel in the Pivotal Phase 2 Study, ZUMA-1

;

Locke;

Frederick L.;

frederick.locke@moffitt.org;

Presenter;

Ghobadi;

Armin;

arminghobadi@wustl.edu;

Jacobson;

Caron A.;

caron_jacobson@dfci.harvard.edu;

Jacobsen;

Eric;

eric_jacobsen@dfci.harvard.edu;

Miklos;

David B.;

dmiklos@stanford.edu;

Lekakis;

Lazaros J.;

llekakis@med.miami.edu;

Braunschweig;

Ira;

IBRAUNSC@montefiore.org;

Oluwole;

Olalekan O.;

olalekan.oluwole@Vanderbilt.Edu;

Lin;

Yi;

lin.yi@mayo.edu;

Siddiqi;

Tanya;

tsiddiqi@coh.org;

Deol;

Abhinav;

deola@karmanos.org;

Reagan;

Patrick M.;

patrick_reagan@urmc.rochester.edu;

Farooq;

Umar;

umar-farooq@uiowa.edu;

Bot;

Adrian;

abot@kitepharma.com;

Jiang;

Yizhou;

jjiang@kitepharma.com;

Rossi;

John M.;

jrossi@kitepharma.com;

Xue;

Allen;

axue@kitepharma.com;

Go;

William Y.;

Wgo@kitepharma.com;

Neelapu;

Sattva S.;

sneelapu@mdanderson.org

car t cell therapy

large b cell lymphoma

Abstract

Abstract

thumbnail

Keywords

car t cell therapy

large b cell lymphoma

Abstract

CONTEXT: Axicabtagene ciloleucel (axi-cel), an anti-CD19 CAR T cell therapy, demonstrated significant clinical benefit and a manageable safety profile for patients with refractory large B cell lymphoma in ZUMA-1 (Neelapu & Locke, et al. NEJM. 2017). These results led to its approval by the US FDA for the treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory large B cell lymphoma after ≥ 2 prior lines of therapy. OBJECTIVE: We examined responses over time in Phase 2 of ZUMA-1. DESIGN: Patients with refractory large B cell lymphoma received 2 × 106 CAR T cells/kg after low-dose conditioning (Neelapu & Locke, et al. NEJM. 2017). Best objective response rates (BOR) were analyzed locally by investigators (local) and centrally by independent review committee (IRC; Cheson, et al. J Clin Oncol. 2007); concordance was measured as the percentage of patients whose IRC matched local. RESULTS: As of 8/11/17, median follow-up was 15.1 months for the 101 patients treated with axi-cel. While the BOR of 82% at primary analysis (median follow-up 8.7 months) by local remained consistent (83%) at long-term follow-up (median of 15.1 months), complete response (CR) rates increased from 54% to 58%. Of 34 patients with a partial response (PR) at 1 month, 11 (32%) converted to CR by the long-term follow-up. High concordance (77% – 79%) was observed for objective response rates (ORR [CR + PR]) between local and IRC at all times assessed. Landmark analysis of progression-free survival (PFS) by response status (per local) revealed that most of the 60 patients with disease control (stable disease or better) at 3 months had prolonged disease control with a 73% 12-month PFS rate. Of the 42 patients with CR and 9 with PR at 3 months, the 12-month PFS rates were 79% and 78%, respectively. CONCLUSIONS: Axi-cel induces high response rates in patients with refractory large B cell lymphoma. CR rates increased through the long-term follow-up, suggesting that responses deepen over time and that patients with PR can achieve CR as late as a year post-infusion. ORR at 3 months may be prognostic for prolonged PFS. FUNDING SOURCE: Kite, a Gilead Company

Discover over 20,000 new abstracts, posters and presentations from leading academic conferences every month. Stay on top of the latest findings, methodologies and discussions happening in your research field around the world.

Company

Legal

Follow us

© Copyright 2019 Morressier GmbH. All rights reserved.

© Copyright 2019 Morressier GmbH.
All rights reserved.